Antol & Hance, PC
Call Today For A Free Consultation
928-255-1730

Understand the consequences of drunk driving in Arizona

Don't get caught driving drunk. One of the easiest ways to ensure you don't get caught is to simply not get behind the wheel after you've had alcohol. Of course, life doesn't always make it that easy. If you are facing a drunk-driving charge, you should let the real consequences of this charge spur you to work on your defense.

In Arizona, you face a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 days on a first offense. Subsequent convictions come with a 90-day mandatory minimum jail sentence and a 12-month driver's license revocation.

On top of the time spent in jail, you also face mandatory fines that start at $1,250 for a first offense. Another monetary expense you face is paying for the installation and maintenance expenses of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, even if it is your first offense.

It is possible that these penalties could be increased. Enhanced penalties are available for people who have blood alcohol concentrations of .15 percent or higher. This means that you might spend more time in jail and have higher fines.

Another consequence of driving drunk is that your vehicle insurance is likely going to go up after the conviction. If you were involved in an accident while you were driving drunk, you might also have to deal with more criminal charges and civil lawsuits if there were injuries or fatalities.

If you are facing a drunk driving charge, make sure that you consider the penalties of a conviction. Work on your defense and plan how you will handle the consequences of the case.

Source: State Farm, "The Real Consequences of Drunk Driving," accessed Aug. 18, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact

Antol & Hance, PC
624 North Beaver Street
Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Flagstaff Law Office Map