Voters in Arizona opted to reject allowing marijuana in the state for recreational use. This means that you still can't possess, sell or cultivate marijuana unless you are doing so in compliance with the medical marijuana law. If you are charged with a recreational marijuana crime, you are facing a felony charge. Even having marijuana paraphernalia is a Class 6 felony.
What are the penalties for possession of marijuana?
The penalties for possession of marijuana depend on the amount of marijuana involved in the case. For under two pounds, you are facing six to 18 months of incarceration. This Class 6 felony is also associated with fines of up to $150,000. Larger amounts of weed will lead to harsher penalties, such as up to three years of incarceration if you are in possession of more than four pounds.
What are the penalties for selling marijuana?
There are two different types of charges that can stem from marijuana sales. One is possession with the intent to sell, which carries at least 18 months to three years in prison. The other is sale or delivery for sale, which carries at least 30 months to seven years. Both of those penalties are for amounts of marijuana up to two pounds.
What are the penalties for cultivation?
Cultivation and production penalties start at nine months to three years of incarceration and a fine of up to $150,000. A charge associated with up to two pounds is a Class 5 felony. Larger amounts are associated with more time in prison, but the fine remains the same.
Anyone who is charged with a marijuana-related crime should learn about what options they have for a defense. This can make a difference in what could be the ultimate outcome of your case.
Source: FindLaw, "Arizona Marijuana Laws," accessed Dec. 14, 2016